Visualize

Picture
     I am a visual learner! Atleast I think I am. I am often told how attentive I am and I have a wonderful detailed memory. this is all from me coding things in my head. I dream in bright color, which i never realized is not typical. In my class i plan on using differentiated instruction but i will use some techniques for visual learners that can help all students.
     Wordle is a sight that takes a passage or webpage and organizes the words into a picture, displaying the most repeated words with different sizes so the "big Ideas" are larger and more prominent. the photo on the side is my blog. the biggest idea of my blog is Writing followed by students. since this is a Language arts class, and a education blog it makes a lot of sense. Another Blog about Wordle

In My Class:
1.Keep my visual aids organized in a logical fashion.
2.Display key points of course material on overheads, chalkboard, and handouts.
3. Font sizes should be large enough to read from the back of classroom. If I use PowerPoint, provide slides on handouts with a photo that is relevent to go along with each slide .
4. Create a web-site and make class notes, or supplementary
materials,available for download.
5. Use pictures along with every spoken point for memory storage. students ca often see
the image for recall and remember everything said.
6. Provide time to make outlines or flashcards as needed.
7. provide graphic organizers and visual aids that students can fill in and customize.

Here is a list of characteristics of Visual Learners according to Lehigh.edu:
 
- Learns through seeing 
- Reader/observer 
- Scans everything;  wants to see things, enjoys visual stimulation
- Enjoys maps, pictures, diagrams, and color
- Needs to see the teacher’s body language/facial expression to fully comprehend 
- Often closes their eyes to visualize or remember something 
- Daydreams; a word, sound, or smell causes recall and mental wandering
- Usually takes detailed notes to absorb the information
- May think in pictures and learn best from visual displays such as diagrams, illustrated textbooks, overhead transparencies,     PowerPoint presentations, videos, and handouts
- Tends to prefer sitting at the front of the classroom to avoid visual obstructions 
- Is usually neat and clean
- Finds something to watch if they are bored
-  Benefits from illustrations and presentations that use color
- Is attracted to written or spoken language rich in imagery

Picture
Visual of Essay Diagram from Inspiration software. Below is the same in outline format.

Joe C
2/29/2012 05:51:23 am

All of the things you mentioned are great ways to incorporate what we have been learning about into your classroom! I think these applications will be a good to break up your content. So many times children got sick of seeing text in black and white, read from right to left ect ect. now you can deliver the same info with new flair!

Reply



Leave a Reply.